Glowing Green

photo-2

Summer is finally arriving…sort of. Despite its slow arrival, summer always inspires me to try to do new things. This morning’s new venture was adding kefir (pronounced kee-fer) to my smoothie. Kefir is similar to yogurt but is much thinner and drinkable. It’s even slightly effervescent, which initially sounded to me like a quality I certainly did not want my yogurt to possess. But alas, I’ve been converted. Though it may take a bit of getting used to, kefir is incredibly delicious and healthy. This smoothie is a really great way to work kefir into your diet, especially if you don’t have much success with drinking it plain. Kefir is almost entirely free of lactose (so it’s safe for anyone who is lactose intolerant) and is packed with protein and wonderful probiotics and vitamins. A word of caution- some kefir is really high in sugar and flavoring. I would…

View original post 89 more words

