My China Kitchen

DSC_0042

It is springtime here in Qinghai!

The weather is warming up, there are tulips in the park, and the trees are sporting a fresh coat of paint! This is the first time, since moving here last August, that I have seen this much sunshine and vibrant colors all around town. After months and months of nothing but cold and brown here, I have a new appreciation for how beautiful this city is this time of year.

IMG_2419

This is also a time of year that I especially crave food that is light and fresh.

I mean, I can still enjoy a great dinner of 川 菜 (Sichuan dishes) with friends but this cucumber salad is a great recipe when you are in need of some good clean eating.

DSC_0020

Just grab a few tomatoes, a couple cucumbers, an onion, and you are ready to go.

Drizzle with a light vinaigrette to give a bit of a zing, and you have…

View original post 113 more words

